WCRS Receives Comfest's Community Organization of the Year Award

With 38 years of celebrating community values and an annual feat of putting on one of Columbus' best festivals with a passionate all-volunteer crew, the Comfest organizers have our total admiration. So we were totally tickled to receive Comfest's Honored Community Organization Award for our community radio station, WCRS 102.1 and 98.3 FM this past June 26th.

In presenting the award on behalf of the Comfest Committee, Connie Everett spoke of the importance of WCRS in bringing unrepresented and underrepresented voices to Columbus listeners. Jayme Richards and Robb Ebright accepted the award on behalf of our dedicated and talented WCRS volunteers. Having just celebrated our 3rd anniversary of broadcasting, we've learned how challenging--and important--community radio is. Helpers are always welcome and needed--visit http://www.wcrsfm.org/volunteer to sign up!

Thanks to all of our dedicated helpers for greeting and talking with Festival goers at our Simply Living and WCRS booths, and for assisting the Comfest Committee with security and clean-up: Jayme Richards; Robb Ebright; Eugene Beer; Evan Davis; Pat Leonard; Joey Pigg; Adam Fleischer; Bridgette Kreuz; Cheryle Williams; Pat Roach; Ryan Branch; Kenny Acker; Carlotta Penn; Chuck Robol; Tim Anstaett; Josh Tulecke-Paulson; Kevin Menefield; and Joe Atzberger.